Passionate People Produce – introduction


“Take your passion, make it happen You can have it all now, you’re dancing through your life….”     (words from “Flashdance”, written by Keith Forsey & Irene Cara)

I’ve always been a fairly excitable and expressive teacher who loved his work and his subject areas and put all into his teaching and leading, and worked hard to achieve satisfaction in a wide variety of roles in education.

Yet it was a parent in 1997, Charles Kovess (CEO Kovess International) who, in saying that I was ‘passionate’ educator, introduced me to the phrase “Passionate People Produce”. Initially I thought the mantra was just a bit of ‘spin’, especially since the Charles had published a book by the same title (Passionate People Produce, Nacson & Sons 1997), but I have learnt to see the wisdom of his philosophy.

To quote the opening sentence of the introduction to his book “I believe that finding one’s passion, and then pursuing it, is the key to a life of fulfilment, of achievement, of learning”. Kovess then addresses some simplified meanings of passion:

• Soul

• What you ‘love’ to do

• What ‘spontaneously arouses’ you

• What ‘excites’ you

• A guidepost toward our true purpose

Recognising a ‘passionate’’ person Kovess suggests: “such persons exude energy, power, excitement, drive and commitment. Their eyes sparkle, they are fully alive. They impact on us in a special way.”

Finding your passion and pursuing it

Chris Guillebau “The art of non-conformity” in an Elluminate Live Webinar ( www.FutureofEducation.com ) on 20/5/11 recommended the following approach

1. What excites you, gets you out of the bed in the morning? (for example, teaching, a job)

 2. What bothers you? – If you could solve one problem in the world, what would it be?

3. What is the connection between 1 & 2: most people don’t know 4. Don’t be afraid to try things – the broader the experiences the better because they help you discover the answer to question 1.

A passionate educator

Does teaching excite you? In your everyday activities ‘at work’ do others see you as exuding energy, drive and commitment? Do you genuinely ‘love’ what you do?

“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking, and don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart,…you’ll know when you find it.” — Steve Jobs

I believe that I as an educator I have found, and am pursuing my passion. How does this concept resonate with you?

7 thoughts on “Passionate People Produce – introduction

  1. Love the nature of this blog and post. Passionate teachers inspire their students to learn. Teaching does excite me and even after 25 years of teaching, I love the nature of my work – the unknown, the learning/teaching challenges that constantly arise, the use of technology to engage students, the changing nature of the classroom, the networking, the noisy chatter and interaction amongst students and most of all learning with the students.

    • Thank you for the positive feedback Anne (Murcha). Indeed, I sense your passion through your own extensive blog and the significant involvement in Elluminate and, not forgetting Twitter. You are a producer – passionate people produce!

  2. Wonderful post. Isn’t Steve Jobs an inspiring man! You may have seen his video on my latest blog post. In regards to passion, sometimes it just seems to follow and find you rather than you seeking it out. That I find is true passion. Doing something you feel stronger afterwards-a strength. I am looking forward to your blogs. Now off to edit some IMovies I am producing for my students. At 930pm that is passion 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment Jeanette. Have listened to/watched Steve Jobs before – will check our your blog to double check your copy. Like your comment about feeling stronger afterwards. By the way I do have a 2nd post on my Blog – you have to click ‘next’ at the top right-hand side. Am new to Blogging so there are elements of the style I have chosen which I wish to rectify, like the spacing and only one post per page. My second post is about the link between integrity and passion – check it out. Keep up the passion! Tony

  3. Feeling a big of a fool but openly admit it. The blog has mysteriously self-corrected (?) and second post appear first, and the ‘next’ has gone. Thankful that the Blog now looks more like what I want it to. Tony

Leave a Reply

